Skip to content

As I Was Saying…

April 2, 2009

Coming back to the always controversial topic of artist collaboration(s) on Album 3 (pronounce that “three” or “drei” depending on the version): this will probably be the most traumatic part of the new release for a lot of fans. There’s only been one collab rumor I’ve seen that didn’t make half the fandom burst into tears, and that was Jack White, whom Tom allegedly got to meet in Vegas a few months ago. Someone somewhere probably burst into tears, but I didn’t see it. It would be cool, I agree with the vast majority on that one.

With the rest of my Featured Guest hope list, not so much…

After watching her on American Idol (Adam FTW!) last night, I have to say that if Lady Gaga (who happens to be a label-mate of Tokio Hotel’s in the US, on Cherrytree Records) turns out to be one of the Featured Guests on 3, I will officially be thrilled.   She is incredible. Great voice, and a uniqueness that I think would compliment Tokio Hotel. The more I see of her, the more I love her:


This would severely piss off a lot of TH fans, of course. So would my next choice, The Pussycat Dolls (or just Nicole Sherzinger). Not to mention my top  German-language choice, rapper Bushido, who I mentioned yesterday, and I was dead serious.

I was also serious about what I would not prefer – popular rock artists who share teen-appeal with the stereotypical Scream demographic – Paramore, Fall Out Boy, etc. I think the base can stand to be challenged a little more than that. I don’t think the point of collaboration should be trying to put the two favorite bands of American high school girls together (by the way, I’m not saying it should be my favorite two acts, either. I’m starting to love Lady GaGa, but if it were my two favorite acts, I’d have to say Andrew W.K. Which would rule like WHOA, but anyway). My one exception, just because it would be totally cool, would be Gerard Way of My Chemical Romance. Which I don’t see happening, but who knows.

In any event, it’s best to keep an open mind about any Featured Guests who appear on 3. If FOB is a Guest, I’m cool. I trust that any artist collaborations will work.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2009 3:33 pm

    TH fans severely pissed off? Never.

    I actually think that 2/3 of TH fans like Gaga, so that would probably be okay. And I think those people who are out in the world who do not follow every breath the band takes online would LOVE the Gaga collab.

  2. Iyana permalink
    April 3, 2009 6:54 pm

    those would be some great collabs and i think the idea with gerald leto is a good one as well but i personally dont see them with fob anyways..it just doesnt seem like it would work u know

  3. veestone permalink
    April 9, 2009 5:42 pm

    I have to agree with you on Gaga. She’s got a huge following and number 1 hits in a handful of countries. I think she’d be good for their name in the states, not to mention her work is brilliant.

    Also, am personally pulling for an AFI collaboration/tour. ;]

Leave a Reply

