Skip to content

What’ll It Be 4: Carlsson

June 22, 2009

Let’s get back to the music, shall we? : )

Previously, we have looked at The Matrix, Desmond Child, and Diane Warren, all songwriters/producers who are either confirmed or strongly rumored to be working on Album 3. There is one more who is rumored to be involved – Swedish composer and pop songwriter Andreas Carlsson.

Carlsson is  frequent collaborator with Child who together with Katy Perry currently have a hit with Perry’s “Waking Up in Vegas.” He has worked with many popular artists, from ex-Idol contestants Ace Young, Clay Aiken, and Carrie Underwood, to new songs by old-school arena rockers like Europe, Def Leppard, and Bon Jovi.

He has also worked with other German artists, including The Scorpions (“Loving Me To Death”), and TH Fan favorite Silbermond, whose “Machs dir selbst” was written by Carlsson and Paul Stanley of KISS:

Love it,  love it, love it!

Europe’s new song “Last Look At Eden” is a good song, too… it’s definitely time for a Europe comeback. Anyone who does stuff like this is cool with me:


Now I will confess: I thought I wasn’t familiar with Carlsson when I first heard his name connected with Album 3. As it turns out, he is the co-writer of what I consider to be one of the greatest, most perfect pop songs ever written. I’ve been defending this song as a masterpiece for years, and clearly I have an opening to do it again. You can laugh all you want, but this is a GREAT song, and although I don’t expect or desire Carlsson’s TH collaboration(s) to be like it, it makes me happy that they are working with a writer I’ve held in high esteem without even knowing it.

Put aside your pop prejudices (if you have them)…

I’m so proud.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2009 9:08 pm

    Oh Hells Yes. That is easily in the All-Time Top Ten. Any reasonable individual can hear it. (And I do not otherwise go for the BSB/NSYNC ilk so much.)

    • hollyq permalink*
      June 22, 2009 10:21 pm

      LOL – you are the one who got me hooked on it! You played that song constantly until I had no choice but to admit to myself that it is, in fact, brilliant.

      (“mememoi” is my sister, in case anyone reads this and is wondering. :))

  2. June 25, 2009 2:51 am

    I want Tokio Hotel to be BIG as BSB in the USA.

Leave a Reply

